2019 ALA Award Winners

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Picture Book-Drawn Together by Minh Lee

Children’s Literature-Front Desk by Kelly Yang

Young Adult-Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Sydney Taylor Book Award

Younger Readers-All-of-a-Kind Family Hanukkah by Emily Jenkins

Older Readers-Sweep by Jonathan Auxier

Teen Readers-What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

American Indian Youth Literature Awards

Picture Book-Shanyaak’utlaax: Salmon Boy

Middle School-Tales of the Mighty Code Talks, Volume 1

Young Adult-#NotYourPrincess

Schneider Family Book Awards

Young Children’s Honor Book-The Remember Balloons by Jessie Oliveros

Young Children’s Winner-Rescue and Jessica by Jessica Kensky

Middle Grade Honor Cook-The Collectors by Jacqueline West

Middle Grade Winner-The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor

Teen Honor Book–Don’t Call Me Crazy by Kelly Jensen

Teen Winner-Anger is a Gift by Mark Oshiro

Stonewall Book Awards

Julian is a Mermaid by Jessica Love

Hurricane Child by Kheryn Callender

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Lifetime Achievement-Dr. Pauletta Brown Bracy

Illustrator New Talent-Thank You, Omu by Oge Mora

Author New Talent-Monday’s Not Coming by Tiffany D Jackson

Illustrator-The Stuff of Stars by Ekua Holmes

Author-A Few Red Drops by Claire Hartfield

Alex Awards

The Black God’s Drums by P Djeli Clark

The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir

Circe by Madeline Miller

Educated by Tara Westover

The Girl Who Smiled Beads by Clemantine Wamariya

Green by Sam Graham-Felsen

Hope After Dark by David Small

How Long ‘Til Black Future Month by NK Jemisen

Lawn Boy by Jonathan Evison

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

Margaret A Edwards Award

M. T Anderson, for Feed and The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing

The Odyssey Award

Sadie by Courtney Summers

William C Morris Award

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Excellence in Nonfiction

The Unwanted: Stories of Syrian Refugees by Don Brown

Michael L Printz Award

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Pura Belpre Award

They Call me Guero: A Border Kid’s Poems by David Bowles

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

Neil Gaiman

Mildred Batchelder Award

The Fox on the Swing by Evelina Daciute

Robert F Siber Medal

The Girl Who Drew Butterflies by Joyce Sidman

Children’s Literature Legacy Award

Walter Dean Meyers

Theodore Seuss Geisel Award

Fox the Tiger by Corey R Tabor

Caldecott Medal

Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall

Newbery Medal

Mercy Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: